UB Open Mic Night – Live Blogging

Monologues. Slam poetry. Original music. Get ready for a night of UB talent at its best during UB’s first-ever Open Mic Night. I’m currently in the lower level of the Student Center waiting for the event to start. Talents from all parts of the school as well as former alumni and faculty have come together to show off their talents. Although I’m not completely sure about what I should expect, I have a strong feeling this is going to be a great event filled with surprises.

8:27

The event takes a brief intermission as new boxes of pizza and wings make their way and just in time for my ride back home. The whole night was a eye-opener to a commuter like me, seeing all this talent and creativity I had previously overlooked for so long. For sure it was something I’ll be talking to my friends about in the following days. I leave the room prouder than ever for attending a great school like UB with all its hidden gems  I Thank you to the Student Program Board and all there performers for such an amazing night that I hope to attend again very soon.

8:19

Before I decided to start heading back home, I managed to get a glimpse into Smoove Motion’s second performance. It has an edgier beat to it and as I look around the room everyone enjoys the break away from serious topic with fresh new beats.

8:14

Jasmine must really love slam poetry, and I mean loving and breathing it everyday! She has taken the stage again and is takes over the audience with her words that spark like fireworks through the air, bringing them into the reality of modern Hip Hop. Her entire approach to this is unforgiving, but that just adds to the dramatic and passionate air she is bringing to the event. Even though I rarely listen to Hip Hop, she even made me reflect on what my generation calls “music” and why we let it influence us. By all of the snaps and voice around me she’s shared her message with us, and what a message that is!

8:08

It seems like UB has been hiding all of its poets all this time because here comes another one, another employee who works at Marina. The hostess forgot to mention his name but no matter, he’s diving right into it. His poem is speaking the truth are he retells  his thoughts on the bus ride to work today.  Looking strait ahead he’s sharing his perspective on love and having standards. Truly an insightful piece I might add.

8:03

Nick we awesome! He really show off all the different parts of his personality through his poem. As he leaves the stage and receives his applause, another slam poet appears, Phoenix. Born and raised right here in Bridgeport he’s really speaking the truth with the poem he’s performing right now. The audience, although from different parts of the world have their eyes set on Phoenix as he tells the tale of a high school football star turned street bum after a “friend accidentally” shot him in the leg and ended his career. Yet another story so familiar to me and by the looks on the audience’s faces, one they know also all too well.

7:57

Topic, AKA, Nick from our class has begun his set of poems . He’s saying that he’s from West Haven and is speaks about gun violence communities like his face with difficulty. Man, I can really connect with this one a I have also heard those ” endless streams of gunshots” at least once or twice in Bridgeport. The audience is also connecting with a silence growing and filling up the entire room.  Apparently, Nick also has the solution for redeeming this world we all live in: doing the right thing. He’s also adding that  “imagination leads to great things.” His message must be true because the audiene’s comments are just full of positivity.

7:53

Is that who I think it is? It is! My fellow classmate Nick has appeared on the stage. I knew he was a slam poet, but now I finally get to see him in action. I’m curious to find out what he has written on the phone he’s got in his hands. He seems smooth and collected and he’s finally grabbing hold of the mic. He’s got this.

image

image

7:47

It seems that the next performers don’t need any introduction. Whispers are quickly filling the room as  Smoove Impact’s Sakorey ( to the left) and Josh (on the right) perform their original song, “Work of Art”. So far I’m hearing a very smooth beat matched with  great voices. You can listen to the original song here. This is an excellent display of musical talent here at UB. Sakorey’s vocals in particular show good range. Even I’m bobbing my head a bit; feeling the music in my soul.

image

7:43

A UB traffic guard known only as “Overdose Flow” has now taken the attention of everyone in the room. The spotlight is his now. He is really moving the audience who is going into a frenzy of snaps, cheers, and clapping. he is braking down all the stereotypes and stigmas the African American community still faces today, urging the newer generation to “let go of the shackles that tie them down.” His performance is yet another pleasant surprise to me.

image

7:42

Shazia is now reading through the perspective and thoughts of her friend. She’s reading a conversation one of her friend’s is having with themselves. Her piece seems to be covering different themes like the pain of love and “not letting society destroy our reality.” She’s even managed to add the heat of the room into her poem, I guess my prior worries are confirmed as the audience laughs.

7:37

The audience fills with whispers as Shazia, spoken word artist takes the stage. Around me I hear Jasmine next me talk to one of her friends, they look at her and have simultaneous uttered the word “Virgin” out. Apparently Shazia is new to the slam poetry scene and is introducing herself as a new poet, or as Jasmine put it, a virgin. She appears to be a bit nervous as she tightly holds her cellphone and whispers her poem. Let’s see what she’s got.

image 7:35

Up next from Harlem is another slam poet, Stylez. He is showing no shame in talking about the issues my generation faces. Right now he’s literally putting society into shame with his talk of a “lost generation” that’s being deprived of many opportunities. His voice is a machine and doesn’t seem to take a breath. The applause and snaps from the audience certainly shows their appreciation for his fine work.image

7:31

Jasmine’s next monologue is stressing the importance of the community “to raise their seeds” or “the penitentiaries will institutionalize their babies.”To be honest I couldn’t agree anymore. She’s really hitting the tough issues Bridgeport faces, trust me I’ve seen first hand what she calls “single mothers who spend all their money dolling themselves up for one night stands at the club”, while their children are left neglected at home. Sad really, but true.

7:25

So the event is starting off on the right foot with UB alumna “Jasmine” performing her first piece of slam poetry called “The Women”. She is giving a fiery walk-though with audience about the sly techniques men use to seduce women into having sex with them. She is very vehemently shaking her fists in the air and calling women to be in control of their future, body, and emotions. Raise the bar girls…. raise it! Her shirt says iluvbpt.com and has asked the audience to check it out. The very liberal  woman is actually born and raised here in Bridgeport, CT and teaches  7th and 8th grade math at Roosevelt School. I wonder what her student think of her? She’s truly spectacular!

7:24

The event has started and I’m kind of surprised and excited at the same time by her announcement. She says that this is the University of Bridgeport’s first open mic night. Now i’m really excited for this event and appears that the large audience is too. Their claps and snaps are signal the performers that it’s show time.

7:20

So no performances yet as the order of performers is being made. It’s really getting a bit hot but at least I can feel that everyone is moving on from the winter blues we’ve had this year.

7:11

The event has not started yet but the hostess has invited everyone to help themselves to pizza and chicken. People are slowly starting to flow making for a good audience. Meanwhile I’m digging into this free food. Yum!

7:05

The event has been a bit delayed but Student Programming Board chair, Daniela González and her crew are eager to kick things off soon. I’m currently having a great conversation with her loyal friends Sam and Janice, who are also welcoming an alumna who is ” Happy for having a platform to express herself .” She’s tall, loud, proud, and definitely comes off as one of those slam artists with her style. I’m excited to see if she’s going to perform, although those boxes of pizza are definitely calling my name too!image

Leave a comment